RSS

Chapter 114: Shedding shyness

26 Aug

He said:

 

For those pining due to

Unrequited love –

How else can they draw strength

Than ride the mock ‘palm-horse’ *

To proclaim love and get relief.

1131 V1  (Manakudavar)

 

For those pining due to love,

Once enjoyed but now denied,

How else can they draw strength

Than ride the mock ‘palm-horse’

To proclaim love and feel relieved.

1131 V2 (Parimelazhagar)

 

The body and the soul

Able to bear no more

Have shed their reserve

That inhibits riding

The palm-horse, declaring love.

1132

 

Shyness and chivalry

I possessed once before.

All I am left with now

Is the mock palm-horse

The love-struck men mount.

1133

 

The gusting stream

Of love and lust

Will sweep away

My raft of modesty

And manly gallantry.

1134

 

She of small bangles

Beaded with garlands

Has left me with

The mock palm-horse

And blues of the dusk.

1135

 

My eyes refuse sleep

‘Cos of this naive girl.

Even at midnight

I think of mounting

The horse of palm fronds.

1136

 

She said:

 

Pining is aroused

By a sea of love.

Yet, we don’t mount the palm-horse.

What can indeed be better

Than to be born a woman?

1137

 

Love spared me not

For my reserve that is rare

Nor thought I deserve pity.

It has breached my covertness

And come out in the open.

1138

 

No one knows, thinking so

The love I conceal

Has revealed itself

On the streets via

Whispers and gossip.

1139 V1 (Parimelazhagar)

 

No one knows, bar me –

thinking so, my love

Has revealed itself,

Smearing on the streets

In a bemused state.

1139 V2 (Manakudavar)

 

Ignorant folks

Sneer at me

When they see me.

Ah, they haven’t been through

What I have undergone.

1140

 

* ‘Matal oortal/erutal’ – This was an ancient tradition for men referred to in old Tamil literature, of riding a mock horse made of palm fronds, while carrying the painting of the loved one, and proclaiming his love in public.

 

அதிகாரம் 114: நாணுத்துறவுரைத்தல்

 

காமம் உழந்து வருந்தினார்க் கேமம்
மடவல்ல தில்லை வலி.
1131
நோனா உடம்பும் உயிரும் மடலேறும்
நாணினை நீக்கி நிறுத்து.
1132
நாணொடு நல்லாண்மை பண்டுடையே னின்றுடையேன்
காமுற்றார் ஏறு மடல்.
1133
காமக் கடும்புனல் உய்க்குமே நாணொடு
நல்லாண்மை என்னும் புணை.
1134
தொடலைக் குறுந்தொடி தந்தாள் மடலொடு
மாலை உழக்கும் துயர்.
1135
மடலூர்தல் யாமத்தும் உள்ளுவேன் மன்ற
படலொல்லா பேதைக்கென் கண்.
1136
கடலன்ன காமம் உழந்தும் மடலேறாப்
பெண்ணிற் பெருந்தக்க தில்.
1137
நிறைஅரியர் மன்னளியர் என்னாது காமம்
மறையிறந்து மன்று படும்.
1138
அறிகிலார் எல்லாரும் என்றேயென் காமம்
மறுகின் மறுகும் மருண்டு.
1139
யாம்கண்ணிற் காண நகுப அறிவில்லார்
யாம்பட்ட தாம்படா வாறு.
1140

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 26, 2018 in Kaamam, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment