RSS

Chapter 113: In praise of love

31 Jul

 

He said:

Milk mixed with honey it is

Saliva springing

From her mouth

With shiny teeth

And sweet words.

– Kural 1121

 

What is the soul

to the body?

Such is the bond

Between me

And my lady.

– Kural 1122

 

Pupil of my eye,

Go away!

There ain’t room enough

For the girl I love

She with a fine brow.

– Kural 1123

 

The girl decked with splendid jewels

Is my very life

When she is with me,

And brings on death

When she leaves me.

– Kural 1124

 

I shall remember

The nature of her

With bright warring eyes

If I ever forget her;

But I know not forgetting.

– Kural 1125

 

She said:

He never leaves my eyes.

When I blink, he remains

And yet stays unhurt.

He – my love,

Is exceptional.

– Kural 1126

 

My beloved resides

Within my eyes.

I never paint them

Lest he vanishes

For that brief time.

– Kural 1127

 

My beloved resides

Within my heart.

I fear eating food

That is steaming hot

Lest he gets burnt.

– Kural 1128

 

If I shut my eyes

He would be veiled;

Knowing this I sleep not.

Hence the townsfolk

Call him uncaring.

– Kural 1129

 

He lives with delight

Always in my heart.

But the townsfolk

Call him loveless

As he dwells apart.

– Kural 1130

 

அதிகாரம் 113: காதற்சிறப்புரைத்தல்

பாலொடு தேன்கலந் தற்றே பணிமொழி
வாலெயி றூறிய நீர்.
1121
உடம்பொ டுயிரிடை என்ன மற்றன்ன
மடந்தையொ டெம்மிடை நட்பு.
1122
கருமணியிற் பாவாய் நீ போதாயாம் வீழும்
திருநுதற் கில்லை இடம்.
1123
வாழ்தல் உயிர்க்கன்னள் ஆயிழை சாதல்
அதற்கன்னள் நீங்கு மிடத்து.
1124
உள்ளுவன் மன்யான் மறப்பின் மறப்பறியேன்
ஒள்ளமர்க் கண்ணாள் குணம்.
1125
கண்ணுள்ளிற் போகார் இமைப்பிற் பருவரார்
நுண்ணியரெம் காத லவர்.
1126
கண்ணுள்ளார் காத லவராகக் கண்ணும்
எழுதேம் கரப்பாக் கறிந்து.
1127
நெஞ்சத்தார் காத லவராக வெய்துண்டல்
அஞ்சுதும் வேபாக் கறிந்து.
1128
இமைப்பிற் கரப்பாக் கறிவல் அனைத்திற்கே
ஏதிலர் என்னுமிவ் வூர்.
1129
உவந்துறைவ ருள்ளத்துள் என்றும் இகந்துறைவர்
ஏதிலர் என்னுமிவ் வூர்.
1130
 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment